About Us

Central Coast Paddlers aims to provide a safe, social environment for members of the community to enjoy a range of paddle sports. The club has a focus on racing and is open to paddlers of all ages and experience levels.


The Central Coast Canoe Club was established on 24th September, 1962 following a meeting in the Terrigal Surf Club of 20 interested paddlers. The initial focus was sprint racing and the club has produced many champion paddlers including the 1964 aspirant Olympian Norma Garside (Howard).

The races were initially held on the Brisbane Water at Gosford but were later moved to a more suitable waterway on the Wyong River, with handicapped races for Seniors and Juniors held in 1965.

In 2017, the club changed its name to Central Coast Paddlers which better reflects the activities of the members who paddle a range of craft including kayaks, skis, stand up paddleboards and occasionally, canoes. Members of the Central Coast Paddlers actively participate in various interclub and state races organised by Paddle NSW as well as major paddling events such as the 3 Rivers, 3 Distances, the Myall Classic and the Hawkesbury Canoe Classic.

Life members

The following members have been awarded Life Membership as recognition of their long service and participation as members of the Club.

Helen Jacobsohn

Brian Southall

Dave McPherson

Nick Naughton

Margaret Naughton


The club races are held on the Wyong River and based at the Lions Park on Panonia Rd, Wyong.

The river is well suited to racing as it has good depth, is relatively protected from the wind and has little boat traffic. The river is generally considered to be non-tidal, however after heavy rain, there can be some water flow as the river drains into Tuggerah Lake at Tacoma.

The club has standard courses contained within the length of the river of 7.5km and 11.35km length that are used for club events as well as 1,000m, 5km and 10km courses.

Current Committee Members of Central Coast Paddlers

The current Committee members are:

President                                Nathan Podlich

Vice-President                        Rob McPherson

Treasurer                                 Margaret Naughton

Secretary                                  Nick Naughton

Committee Member               Rob McPherson

Committee Member               Cam Mehmet

The Committee meets a minimum of 3 times each year and the Annual General Meeting is held in November.

President – Nathan Podlich
V. P.           –  Rob McPherson
Secretary –  Nick Naughton
Treasurer – Margaret Naughton
Committee – Rob McPherson, Cam Mehmet.